Unseemly Pursuits by K.B. OWEN

Unseemly Pursuits A deadly secret that won’t stay buried… It is the fall of 1896, and Miss Concordia Wells is hip-deep in the usual tumult of a lady professor’s life: classes, clubs, student pranks, and the unending drama generated by the girls she lives with on campus. Complicating this normality is the new Lady Principal, whom the students have nicknamed “the Ogre.” The woman seems bent on making Concordia’s life miserable. Events take a grave turn, however, when an ancient Egyptian amulet donated to the college mysteriously disappears, the donor is found murdered, and his daughter - Concordia’s best friend - confesses to killing him. Desperate for answers, Concordia unravels a 20-year-old secret, closely guarded by men now dead. But such secrets can be dangerous for the daughters left behind, including Concordia herself. Can she make sense of the mystery that has bound together their fates, before it’s too late? Absorbing in its memorable characters, non-stop plot twists, and depiction of life in a late-nineteenth century women’s college, Unseemly Pursuits is the sequel to the first book in the series, Dangerous and Unseemly. Fans of Harriet Vane and Charlotte Pitt will find in Concordia Wells a new heroine to fall in love with